2012 Frances Brodie Award winner Eve Muirhead

Eve Muirhead, skip of the Scottish women’s team, has been awarded the 2012 World Curling Federation Frances Brodie Award.

Eve Muirhead (SCO), winner of the 2012 Frances Brodie Award Photo: WCF/CCA/Michael Burns

Muirhead was selected for the award by fellow players at this year’s Ford World Women’s Curling Championship in Lethbridge, Canada. All participants at the Women’s Championship were invited to nominate a fellow competitor who, in their view, best exemplified the traditional values of skill, honesty, fair play, sportsmanship and friendship during the event.

Muirhead was presented the award during the closing ceremony of the event by Claire McLaren, President of the Ladies Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club.

Current European Champion Muirhead, from Blair Atholl, Scotland, is 21 years old and first started curling when she was six. She is a full-time athlete who skipped Great Britain at the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, Canada.

Muirhead is a four-time world junior champion, having won in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011, and won a silver medal as she skipped Team Scotland in the 2011 World Women’s Curling Championship in Swift Current, Canada. Her team finished in sixth place at the 2012 championship.

For past winners of the World Curling Federation Frances Brodie Award visit http://www.worldcurling.org/frances-brodie-award