Berne, Switzerland to host first World Mixed Curling Championship in 2015

  • The city of Berne, Switzerland Photo:

The World Curling Federation (WCF) announced today that the first World Mixed Curling Championship will be hosted by Switzerland’s capital city, Berne, between 12 and 19 September 2015.

Curling Bahn Allmend, the city’s eight sheet curling facility, will host the Championship which is an open entry event for all WCF Member Associations following their decision to expand the European Mixed Curling Championship to a world-wide event at the 2014 WCF Annual General Assembly.

Member Associations may enter one mixed gender team for this event, consisting of two male and two female athletes.

Mixed Curling is played following the same rules as 'traditional' curling with the exception that games will be played up to a maximum of eight ends, delivery rotation must alternate between each gender and the skip and vice-skip must be from the opposite gender. Also, no alternate (substitute) athletes are allowed on the team.

This will be the fourth major international curling event hosted by the city of Berne following the Air Canada Silver Broom (World Men’s Curling Championship) in 1974 and 1979, and the Ford World Curling Championships (men and women) in 1997.

“We are delighted to be returning to Switzerland and the city of Berne to mark this historic occasion - the first World Mixed Curling Championship,” said WCF President Kate Caithness.

She continued: “It is certainly going to be an exciting season for Switzerland as they also look forward to the World Men’s Curling Championship 2016 in Basel. Switzerland has a long association with our sport and has proven time and time again how successful they are at hosting first class curling events and I’m sure that this Championship will be no exception.”

Stefan Haesler, President of the Organising Committee, is also pleased to welcome the curling world back to the city. He said: “We are honoured that the World Curling Federation has put their trust in us to host the first ever World Mixed Curling Championship. We will put in a lot of effort and great enthusiasm to ensure that this is both an exciting and enjoyable Championship for everyone involved.”

He added: “We would like to invite curling fans from around the world to join us at this magnificent event in the beautiful city of Berne.”

This event replaces the European Mixed Curling Championship, which was last held in Taarnby, Denmark in September 2014. That Championship was won by Sweden, with Norway picking up the silver medals while Switzerland won bronze.

Later in the 2015/2016 curling season, the city of Basel in Switzerland will host the World Men’s Curling Championship 2016 between 2 and 10 April. Further details about all other WCF events can be found here:

Previous World Curling Championship events in Berne:
Air Canada Silver Broom 1974: Won by USA, skipped by Bud Somerville
Air Canada Silver Broom 1979: Won by Norway, skipped by Kristian Soerum
Ford World Curling Championships 1997:
Women’s championship won by Canada, skipped by Sandra Schmirler
Men’s championship won by Sweden, skipped by Peja Lindholm
More info: