Prestigious awards for curling’s Olympic gold medal winners

  • Photos: Courtesy of ANOC Awards 2018

Sweden’s Team Anna Hasselborg and United States’ Team John Shuster, who are the Olympic curling gold medallists from PyeongChang 2018, have won the ‘Best Female Athlete Team of PyeongChang 2018’ and the ‘Best Male Athlete Team of PyeongChang 2018’ awards respectively.

These were awarded at the fifth ANOC Awards 2018, being held in Tokyo, Japan on Wednesday.

At the awards ceremony, World Curling Federation President, Kate Caithness, said: “Many congratulations to Sweden’s Team Anna Hasselborg and the United States’ Team John Shuster for winning these prestigious awards.

“The Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang gave unprecedented exposure to curling. Awards such as these help to enhance the values of our sport and encourage more people to take up curling. These athletes – and their Member Associations, the Swedish Curling Association and USA Curling – are determined and ambitious and thoroughly deserve such recognition.”

The team of skip Anna Hasselborg, third Sara McManus, second Agnes Knochenhauer and lead Sofia Mabergs – who were supported by alternate Jennie Waahlin at the Games – added another title to their trophy cabinet, just last week, when they won their first Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2018 title, in Tallinn, Estonia.

On receiving the award, Hasselborg, said: “It is a great honour to win the best female team of PyeongChang 2018, mostly because the word a ‘team’ is really the word that defines us. Not just the team that stands here today – the four of us – but also the greater team around us. It is our support staff, our coaches and our friends and family. But, mostly it is the four men here, this is your prize too, thank you for being our rocks.”

John Shuster’s team are third Tyler George, second John Landsteiner, lead Matt Hamilton and alternate Joe Polo.

John Shuster said: “Wow – the men’s team of the Olympic Games! It feels special. What makes a team great is the commitment to each other and to a dream. You can achieve dreams. Throughout the last four years, we committed to each other to try to achieve this [Olympic gold]. Thanks to our wives and families, our coaches and support staff. A huge thank you to all the governing bodies around the world that allow us to compete on the world’s grandest stage in a fair venue."

Both teams will return to the ice next week for the second leg of the new Curling World Cup, in Omaha, Nebraska, United States. The competition runs from Wednesday 5 December to Sunday 9 December.

The winners of each award were selected by the ANOC Jury, comprised of representatives from each of the Continental Associations, the ANOC Athletes’ Commission Chair, AIOWF President and ANOC Secretary General.

The Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) was established in June 1979 during the Constitutive General Assembly in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Over the last 38 years, the number of National Olympic Committees (NOCs) whose interests ANOC represents has risen to 206.

The ANOC promotes the collective interests of the NOCs and aims to build and strengthen the relationships between the NOCs and the Olympic Family for the benefit of the entire Olympic Movement.

For more on the awards visit the ANOC Awards Twitter, Instagram (@ANOC_Olympic) and Facebook (/ANOCOlympic) accounts.

You can follow the work of the World Curling Federation on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and by searching the hashtag #curling