Double Gold for China at Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2011

Both the Chinese men’s and women’s teams have won the finals of the 2011 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in Nanjing, China.

Photo: Chinese Curling Association
Photo: Chinese Curling Association

In front of a home crowed at the Olympic Sports Center, the Chinese men, skipped by Rui Liu, beat New Zealand (skip Peter de Boer) 5-2. In the women’s final, Bingyu Wang led her Chinese team to their fifth championship title, winning 11-3 against Korea (skip Ji-Sun Kim).

The bronze medal went to Korea in the men’s event and New Zealand won the women’s bronze. Korea (skip Chang-Min Kim) beat Australia (skip Hugh Millikin) 9-2 and New Zealand’s Chelsea Farley led her side to an 8-4 win over Japan’s Satsuki Fujisawa.

In making the final, China and New Zealand qualified for the World Curling Federation Pacific-Asia places at the 2012 World Men’s Curling Championship in Basel, Switzerland (31 March – 8 April 2012). China and Korea will head to the 2012 Ford World Women’s Curling Championship in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada (17-15 March 2012).

Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2011 - Final Standings:

1. China (Skip Rui Liu) – Gold & qualification for WMCC 2012
2. New Zealand (Skip Peter de Boer) – Silver & qualification for WMCC 2012
3. Korea (Skip: Chang-Min Kim) - Bronze
4. Australia (Skip: Hugh Millikin)
5. Chinese Taipei (Skip: Randolph Shen)
6. Japan (Skip: Makoto Tsuruga)

1. China (Skip: Bingyu Wang) – Gold & qualification for WWCC 2012
2. Korea (Skip: Ji-Sun Kim) - Silver & qualification for WWCC 2012
3. New Zealand (Skip: Chelsea Farley)
4. Japan (Skip: Satsuki Fujisawa)

PACC 2011 Men’s results:
PACC 2011 Women’s results:
The schedule of play and team line ups can be seen here:

The 2011 event was staged at the Olympic Sports Center in Nanjing which will also be the venue for the 2014 Summer Youth Olympic Games. In the 21 year history of the Championships, it was the second time that the event had been hosted by China. (2007 Beijing).

Due to the growth of the sport of curling in Asia, the Pacific Curling Federation adopted a new name in 2011. From this year onwards their events in the region will bear the Pacific-Asia title and already, the Kazakhstan Curling Association has been granted provisional membership of the Federation.

About the Pacific-Asia Curling Federation
The Pacific-Asia Curling Federation (PACF) is the regional sport body responsible for the development and promotion of curling in the Pacific-Asia region. Working with the World Curling Federation, the PACF organises regional championships which lead to qualification for the WCF’s World Championships. Currently the PACF has six member associations who are also members of the WCF: Australian Curling Federation, Chinese Curling Association, Japan Curling Association, Korean Curling Federation, New Zealand Curling Association and Chinese Taipei Curling Federation. At the 2011 Annual General Assembly of the PACF, the Kazakhstan Curling Association was granted provisional membership. See WCF Member Associations