Switzerland to host European Curling Championships once again

The European Curling Championships will be held in Switzerland for the 11th time in 2017, but for the first time in the north eastern town of St Gallen, it has been announced today (Friday 20 November).

The event will be held between 17 and 25 November 2017, with the A-Division taking place in the Eissportzentrum Lerchenfeld and the B-Division held in the The Curling Center St Gallen.

World Curling Federation President, Kate Caithness, said: “It’s with great pleasure that I can confirm that the European Curling Championships 2017 will be returning to Switzerland.

“Switzerland has hosted this event 11 times in 35 years showing the long tradition that the Swiss have with our sport and their ability to host a first class curling championship. It is also pleasing to be able to take this Championship to a new region in Switzerland and showcase our sport in the north east of the country.”

The curling community in St Gallen are on a mission to develop curling in the city and the surrounding area, in order to offer the best training facilities and events to amateur, young and professional curlers alike.

This has seen them host the EURONICS EUROPEANMASTERS, the finals of the Curling Champions Tour, for the past three years and the St Gallen Open for the last eight years. Further milestones in this vision are opening the brand new Curling Center St Gallen in November 2014, and being selected to host the European Curling Championships 2017.

LOC President, Marco Battilana, said: “We and the whole curling community are very happy, to bring the ECC 2017 to St.Gallen. With our slogan – “WE ROCK THE ICE” – we want to stage the event with a unique ambience, with a home country feeling, entertainment, food and beverages and individual services for the public and athletes.”

To date, Switzerland men have won 21 European Curling Championship medals (nine Bronze, four Silver and eight Gold), while their women’s teams have won 27 medals (12 Bronze, ten Silver and five Gold). Their most recent medals, Gold (women) and Bronze (men), were won last year by Team Binia Feltscher and Team Sven Michel.

Switzerland women and Sweden are the current European Curling champions, winning Gold at the 2014 event in Champéry, Switzerland. Before the championship in St Gallen the 2015 edition of the event is now underway in Esbjerg, Denmark (19-28 November 2015) and the 2016 event will be held in Glasgow, Scotland at Braehead (18-26 November 2016).

Results, statistics, news and photos from the European Curling Championships 2015 can be seen on the WCF’s official event website: http://www.worldcurling.org/ecc2015

St Gallen

The city and region of St. Gallen owe their foundation and name to Gallus, an Irish monk who around 612 wandered from Lake Constance to the high Steinach valley. According to legend, he fell into a thorn bush, which he believed to be a sign from God that he should stay.

Today, the Abbey in St Gallen is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the city has an impressive sport event calendar, with the CSIO Swiss-show-jumping competition, the Military Tattoo, the Football club St Gallen in the AFG-Arena and TSV St. Otmar-St Gallen, a handball-club, well-known in Europe.

The city of St Gallen is the capital of the Kanton St Gallen and the population is more than 80,000.

European Curling Championships in Switzerland
* Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2014: Champéry
* Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2010: Champéry
* Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2006: Basel
* Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2002: Grindelwald
* European Curling Championships 1998: Flims
* European Curling Championships 1995: Grindelwald
* European Curling Championships 1993: Leukerbad
* European Curling Championships 1989: Engelberg
* European Curling Championships 1985: Grindelwald
* European Curling Championships 1981: Grindelwald