Teams qualify for European C-Division play-offs

  • Photo: © WCF / Alina Androsova

Poland, Spain, Slovakia and Ireland women and Spain, Ireland, France and Belarus men have qualified for the European Curling Championships C-Division 2017 play-offs at the conclusion of the round-robin on Friday (12 May), in Andorra.

These teams still have a chance to qualify for the B-Division of the Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2017 in November. That event will run from 17 to 25 November in St Gallen, Switzerland.

On the women’s side Poland and Spain will play for gold medals on Saturday (13 May) at 09.00 (Central European Time) having completed the round-robin in first and second in the rankings. The winner of this game will also qualify for the B-Division. The loser will play against the winner of Slovakia and Ireland, who finished off in third and fourth place respectively. These teams will then play to decide who takes silver and bronze medals and for the second B-Division place.

Spain and Ireland play for gold in the men’s final. Meanwhile, third placed France and fourth placed Belarus will go head-to-head.

Ireland beat Slovenia women in a tie-breaker to reach the play-offs, 11-6. Meanwhile the other teams all won their final round-robin games to secure their spots in the play-offs. Spain men beat Serbia 10-4. Ireland men beat Croatia 9-1; Belarus beat Bulgaria 9-2 and France had a 7-6 win over Belarus. Poland women won against Romania 14-2; Slovakia had a 11-4 victory over Austria and Spain beat Ireland 8-2.

Live Scores from these championships can be found at

To interact with the World Curling Federation in the build up to its Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2017 and across it’s A, B and C-Division events, you can follow on social media using the information below:

Twitter & Instagram: @worldcurling
Hashtags: #ECC2017 #curling