New trophies revealed for World Curling Championships

  • Photo: © WCF / Richard Gray

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has unveiled brand new trophies for its World Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships.

With the WCF currently celebrating its 50th anniversary, which draws to its conclusion at the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship 2017 in Edmonton, Canada (1-9 April), it is fitting that these trophies will first be played for at the event in Edmonton and at the World Women’s Curling Championship 2017 in Beijing, China (18-26 March).

The trophies were designed and created by Thomas Lyte of England.

World Curling Federation President, Kate Caithness, said: “I am delighted to unveil our new World Curling Championships silverware, during such a special year for the World Curling Federation.

“Thank you to those at Thomas Lyte who took our brief and produced these first-class trophies. I very much look forward to presenting them later this season at the final championships where Olympic points can be earned.”

The trophies, made from silver, feature a small curling stone and traditional corn brooms within the design. The silver cup includes engravings of the championship names and a globe to represent the worldwide element of the championships. The cup then sits on a pyramid base, where future winners will be engraved. The base can be added to when all the engraving badges fill up.

The trophies are 70 centimetres high, including the base, and 44 centimetres tall when standing alone.

Thomas Lyte are the official restorers of tennis’ Davis Cup and the Web Ellis rugby world cup, the designers and makers of the Barclays ATP Tour trophies, the official suppliers of football’s FA Cup in England and RBS 6 Nations rugby trophy in Europe, amongst many other famous sports awards.

With the old World Curling Championship trophies being retired, they will now be displayed, amongst other special curling memorabilia, at the WCF’s headquarters in Perth, Scotland.

For more pictures of the new trophies visit,

The WCF delivers world-class competitions encompassing Men’s, Mixed Doubles, Wheelchair and Women’s curling disciplines. Many of these events form the qualification paths to Olympic Winter Games, within the four-year Olympic cycle. The 2017 World Curling Championships are the last events where Olympic Qualification Points are on offer for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, Korea (9-25 February).

To engage with with the WCF on social media, at its World Curling Championships and in the build to PyeongChang 2018, follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@WorldCurling) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting:

Generic: #curling #Roadto2018
Event specific: #WWCC2017 #FWMCC2017