World Financial Group Continental Cup 2012 returns to British Columbia, Canada

The World Curling Federation (WCF) and the Canadian Curling Association (CCA) have announced that Langley, British Columbia will host the 2012 World Financial Group Continental Cup, presented by Monsanto.

World Wheelchair Curling Qualification event begins Sunday 7th

The organizing committee of the World Wheelchair Curling Qualification (WWhCQ) 2010 is busy putting the final touches on the event venue to ensure optimal playing conditions for the wheelchair curlers, when they enter the ice on the 7th of November at the Kisakallio Sports Institute in Lohja, Finland. The WWhCQ is the first landmark on the journey towards the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games.

The WCF is currently seeking bids to host future events

The World Curling Federation is currently seeking bids to host these future events: World Women's Curling Championship 2013 World Junior Curling Championships 2012 World Wheelchair Curling

Teams confirmed for 2011 World Financial Group Continental Cup

The seventh edition of this unique international curling competition will take place from 13-16 January at the Servus Credit Union Place in St Albert, Alberta.

MOUNT10 AG to be Main Sponsor of Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2010

Infront achieves early sell-out of the event’s sponsorship inventory MOUNT10 AG, the Swiss-based online backup provider, is to be the Main Sponsor of the Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2010, which will take place in Champéry, Switzerland, from 4 to 11 December this year.

WCF and CCA deal on future of World Championships in Canada

The World Curling Federation (WCF) is pleased to announce that it has signed a new agreement with the Canadian Curling Association (CCA) which will see Canada hosting the World Women’s Championships in 2012 and 2014 and the Men’s World Championship in 2013. The deal is for a minimum of three years and provides the CCA with the first right of refusal for renewal.

WCF appoints new Secretary General

The World Curling Federation (WCF) is pleased to announce the appointment of Colin Grahamslaw as its new Secretary General. Colin Grahamslaw, from Scotland, takes over the position with the Olympic winter sport federation from Mike Thomson who is retiring after eighteen years in the job. Grahamslaw has over fifteen years of experience of operational and strategic management of sport disciplines.

Death of WCF Honorary President Günther Hummelt

The World Curling Federation (WCF) is deeply saddened to learn the news of the death of former WCF President Günther Hummelt. He was 78. Hummelt was President of the WCF from 1990 to 2000. “On behalf of the World Curling Federation I express our sincerest condolences to Günther’s family,” said WCF President Kate Caithness.

Perth, Scotland to host 2011 World Junior Championships

The World Curling Federation (WCF) and Scotland’s Royal Caledonian Curling Club have announced that Perth, Scotland will host the World Junior Curling Championships in 2011. The event will return to the Dewars Centre and will be staged from 5-13th March 2011.

WCF appoints new Curling Development Officer

The World Curling Federation (WCF) is pleased to announce the appointment of Eeva Röthlisberger as its new Curling Development Officer. With a background in marketing and sales, Eeva Röthlisberger, who has joint Swiss and Finnish citizenship, has been involved with the sport of curling for almost twenty years.

USA and Canada win gold to become 2010 World Senior Champions

The USA won the final of the men’s World Senior Curling Championship on Sunday beating Canada 4-3 in an extra end. On the neighbouring sheet in the Ural Lightning Ice Palace, the Canadian women’s team secured the senior women’s championship title with an 8-4 victory over Switzerland. Australia won the senior men’s bronze game 4-3 against Switzerland.

Russia wins gold at World Mixed Doubles Championship 2010

Curling history was made on Sunday when the Russian mixed doubles curling team secured the first world championship title ever for the Russian Federation. In front of a crowd of over 1,500 gathered in the Ural Lightning Ice Palace, Yana Nekrasova and teammate Petr Dron beat the New Zealand pair, Sean and Bridget Becker, 9-7 in the final.

World Mixed Doubles and World Seniors get underway in Russia

The World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship and World Senior Curling Championships start this Sunday in the Ural Lightning Ice Palace in Chelyabinsk in Russia. The event goes ahead despite the widespread travel disruption caused by the Icelandic volcano eruption.

Torger Nergård wins Collie Campbell Memorial Award 2010

Torger Nergård, skip of the Norwegian men’s team, has won the 2010 Collie Campbell Memorial Award. Nergård was presented the award by Ivo Lorenzi, past president of the Cortina Curling Association, at the closing ceremony of the Capital One World Men’s Curling Championship in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy.

Capital One World Men’s Championship - Finals

Gold Final: Canada-Norway 9-3 Bronze Final: USA-Scotland 4-6 Canada’s Kevin Koe and his team of Blake MacDonald, Carter Rycroft, Nolan Theissen and alternate Jamie King, won gold at the Capital One World Men’s Curling Championship with a one-sided 9-3 victory over Norway in Sunday afternoon’s final in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy.

« Prev 12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031323334353637383940414243444546474849505152535455565758596061626364656667686970717273747576777879808182838485868788 Next »