Pacific-Asia Teams decided for 2012 World Championships

China and New Zealand have qualified for the 2012 World Men’s Curling Championship with the Pacific-Asia spots at the 2012 Ford World Women’s Curling Championship going to China and Korea.

photo: Chinese Curling Association

By making the finals at the 2011 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships (PACC) currently underway in Nanjing, China, these four teams secured their places at the 2012 World Championships. On Saturday they will play for the men’s and women’s 2011 PACC gold medals.

Korea and Australia will compete for the men’s bronze medal. Japan and New Zealand meet in the women’s bronze game.

The event has been running since Saturday 19 at the Olympic Sports Center in Nanjing. 6 men’s teams and 4 women’s teams from the World Curling Federation Pacific-Asia region competed all week in a double round-robin, with the finalists being decided on a ‘best-of-five’ games result.

In the men’s event, China emerged victorious after beating Australia three times. New Zealand and Korea faced each other four times with New Zealand emerging on a 3-1 record.

In the women’s competition, China had three straight wins against New Zealand (3-0) as did Korea against Japan (3-0).

PACC 2011 Men’s results:
PACC 2011 Women’s results:
The schedule of play and team line ups can be seen here:

The Ford World Women’s Curling Championship 2012 will take place in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada (17-25 March 2012). The World Men’s Curling Championship 2012 will be staged in Basel, Switzerland (31 March-8 April 2012).

The event is being staged in the Olympic Sports Center in Nanjing which will also be the venue for the 2014 Summer Youth Olympic Games. In the 21 year history of the Championships, it is the second time that the event has been hosted by China. (2007 Beijing). Due to the growth of the sport of curling in Asia, the Pacific Curling Federation adopted a new name in 2011. From this year onwards their events in the region will bear the Pacific-Asia title.

CCTV-5, the main sports broadcaster in China, has broadcast extensive coverage of Chinese games throughout the event and will broadcast the finals on Saturday 26.

Copy this link into your web browser to see all the CCTV-5 coverage from the event:[%u51B0%u58F6]%u6CDB%u592A%u5E73%u6D0B%u8D5B%uFF1A

The 2010 championships were staged in Uiseong, South Korea and the results were:
Men: 1-CHN 2-KOR 3-AUS 4-NZL 5-TPE 6-JPN
Women: 1-KOR 2-CHN 3-JPN 4-NZL 5-AUS