Pacific Championships 2010 begin Tuesday in Korea

The 2010 Pacific Curling Championships get underway in Uiseong, Korea on Tuesday 16 November. 11 teams (6 men’s teams and 5 women’s teams) from the Pacific region will take part in the event with the finals taking place a week later on Tuesday 23 November.

Photo: Korean Curling Federation

Full playing schedules/team line ups/results and photos can be seen here:

In the women’s competition, teams from Australia, China, Japan, Korea and New Zealand will play to secure the two World Curling Federation Pacific Zone qualification places for the Capital One World Women’s Curling Championship 2011 in Esbjerg, Denmark (19-27 March).

Olympic Bronze Medallist and reigning Pacific Champion, China’s Bingyu Wang, returns as skip of the Chinese team for the 7th year running. Representing Japan is Mayo Yamaura with a new team line up featuring formers members of Mari Motohashi’s Aomori team. Ji Sun Kim skips the home side Korea. 2010 World Mixed Doubles Silver Medallist, Bridget Becker, plays third for Brydie Donald’s New Zealand team and Kim Forge skips the Australian team.

In the men’s event, teams from Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Korea and New Zealand will vie for the top two spots and qualification for the Ford World Men’s Curling Championship 2011 in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada (2-10 April).

Fengchun Wang skips the Chinese men’s team who have won the Pacifics for the past three years in a row. Makato Tsuruga and his team, who represented Japan at the 2010 Men’s Worlds, will be looking to better Japan’s four silver medal wins at the event. Dong Keun Lee, who skipped the Korean men to gold in 2002, returns to represent his country. 2010 World Senior Men’s Bronze Medallist Hugh Millikin skips the Australians. 2010 World Mixed Doubles Silver Medallist, Sean Becker skips the New Zealanders and Randolph Shen returns for the second year in a row to skip the Chinese Taipei team.

The event is being staged in the Uiseong Curling Center. In the 20 year history of the Pacific Curling Championships, it is the third time that the event has been hosted by Korea. (2004 Chuncheon and 2001 Jeonju).

The 2009 event was staged in Karuizawa, Japan and the results were:

Men: 1-CHN 2-JPN 3-KOR 4-AUS 5-NZL 6-TPE
Women: 1-CHN 2-JPN 3-KOR 4-NZL 5-AUS