Kate Caithness CBE from Scotland was elected President of the World Curling Federation in April 2010. She is the first female president of the World Curling Federation and the first female president of an Olympic Winter Sports Federation.

From 2005 to 2009 Caithness was elected on to the International Paralympic Committee’s five person Sports Council Management Committee and from 2006-2009 she served on the Paralympic Games Committee.

She was elected Vice-President of the World Curling Federation in 2006 and served for two two-year terms under former President Les Harrison.

In March 2011, Caithness was appointed to the Olympic Programme Commission which is responsible for reviewing and analysing the programme of sports, disciplines and events, as well as the number of athletes in each sport, for the Summer and Winter Olympics.

In April 2012, Caithness was re-elected, unopposed, to the position of World Curling Federation President for a further two-year term. She was unopposed again in 2014 as she was re-elected for another four year term at the World Curling Congress in Reno, United States. In 2018 she stood once more for a final four-year term and was elected unanimously at the Congress in Budapest, Hungary.

In 2016, Caithness was elected to the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) Coordination Committee for the Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 and to the newly formed council of the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). She is also a governor for the International Masters Games Association and an Honorary Professor of Beijing Sports University - Caithness also serves as the Dean of the curling college within the University.

Married with two sons, Caithness became a grandmother in 2008. Her free time is spent with family and when she has a chance, curling and playing golf at her home club in Edzell, Angus, where she was the Lady Captain from 2002 to 2004.

Caithness was bestowed the honour of an OBE (Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) by Queen Elizabeth II in 2013 for services to curling and international disability sport. Then, in the New Year 2019 Honours List she became a CBE - Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire.

See also: