Mixed doubles curling returns to Naseby with the 2017 Audi quattro Winter Games NZ

Ahead of making its Olympic Winter Games debut, in February 2018, Mixed Doubles Curling returns to the Maniototo Curling International Rink in Naseby, New Zealand when the 2017 Audio quattro Winter Games NZ begins on Saturday 26 August 2017.

The Audi quattro Winter Games NZ is a multi-sport event held every two years consisting of seven winter disciplines – alpine skiing, cross country, freeride, freeskiing, ice hockey, Mixed Doubles Curling and snowboarding.

The Mixed Doubles Curling competition will consist of 16 teams split into two pools of eight. Each pool will compete in a round-robin and a round of tiebreakers (if required). The winner of each pool will progress directly to a semi-final, while the second and third placed teams will compete in a quarter-final round. The bronze and gold medal games complete the competition.

The eight teams in Pool A are Australia 1, defending champions Canada, China, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Japan and New Zealand 2.

The eight teams in Pool B are Australia 2, Korea, New Zealand 1, New Zealand 3, Norway, Scotland, Spain and Switzerland.

In Pool A, defending champions Canada are represented by Kaylnn Virtue and Charlie Park who won this competition in 2015 while also representing Canada in the World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship that same year. The pool also includes Australia’s Lynn and Dean Hewitt as well as Finland’s Oona Kauste and Tomi Rantamaki who represented their countries at the World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship 2017 in Lethbridge, Canada in April.

Pool B includes current world mixed doubles champions, Switzerland’s Jenny Perret and Martin Rios. Other teams fresh from the World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship 2017 are Bridget and Scott Becker, who will be representing hosts New Zealand 1, Spain’s Irantzu and Gontzal Garcia, Korea’s Hyeji Jang and Kijeong Lee and Norway’s Kristin Moen and Magnus Nedregotten.

The round-robin begins at 09.00 on Saturday 26 August and runs until 12.30 on Tuesday 29 August. Tiebreakers, if required, will be played at 16.00 that same day. The quarter-finals will be played at 19.30 on Tuesday 29 August.

The semi-finals will be played at 11.00 on Wednesday 30 August while the bronze and gold medal games will be played later that day at 15.30. All times are New Zealand Standard Time, 12 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time.

For more information on the 2017 Audi quattro Winter Games NZ and all the curling results visit http://www.wcf.co/WGNZ2017

Facebook: www.facebook.com/WorldCurlingFederation | www.facebook.com/WinterGamesNZ
Twitter & Instagram: @worldcurling | @wintergamesnz
Hashtags: #curling #WGNZ