Canada win World Men’s Curling Championship 2016 Gold

  • Team Canada with the World Men's trophy and Gold medals Photo: WCF / Richard Gray

Canada, skipped by Kevin Koe, have won the World Men’s Curling Championship 2016, at the first championship where Olympic qualification points were available for Pyeongchang 2018, Korea.

The team made up of skip Koe, third Marc Kennedy, second Brent Laing, lead Ben Hebert and alternate Scott Pfeifer faced Denmark, under skip Rasmus Stjerne, in Sunday (10 April) afternoon's final in the St Jakobshalle in Basel, Switzerland and won 5-3.

It was Canada who opened the scoring when their skip Koe played a nose-hit for one point in the first end.

Denmark blanked the second end and in the third end, Stjerne played a nose-hit with his last stone to score two points and take a 2-1 lead. Later, in the fifth end Canada's Koe drew his last stone into the house to score two points and re-take the lead, for a 3-2 half-time break.

But, the Danes responded immediately and, in the sixth end, levelled the score at 3-3 when Stjerne played an open draw into the house for one point.

Canada then blanked the seventh and eighth ends, and the ninth end turned out to be decisive, with Canada's Koe drawing his last stone into the house to score two points and take a 5-3 lead. In the tenth end, Koe hit-out a Danish stone from the house to run the Danes out of stones and secure the victory and the world title with a final score of 5-3.

With this result, Canada's first Gold medal since 2012, skip Koe (2010) won a second world title as did his team-mates third Marc Kennedy and lead Ben Hebert (both 2008). For second player Brent Laing (2012 and 2007) this is a third word Gold and for Canada's alternate Scott Pfeifer (2005, 2003 and 2002), this is a fourth world Gold.

By contrast, Rasmus Stjerne led his Danish team of third Johnny Frederiksen, second player Mikkel Poulsen, lead Troels Harry and alternate Oliver Dupont to their nation's first-ever world Silver medal.

Altogether over 49,000 people attended the Championships and, during the closing ceremony it was announced that Kosuke Morozumi, lead of Japan, was the winner of the Collie Campbell Award, voted for by all the players to recognise the player they think best exemplified curling's values and sportsmanship throughout the event. This is the second year in succession that Morozumi has won this accolade.

Based on participation at the last three World Curling Championships, 2014 and/or 2015 men's and women's world championships, 14 countries have now at least qualified for the Olympic Qualification Event in December 2017:
They are: Canada, Denmark, USA, Japan, Norway, Sweden, Great Britain (Scotland), Finland, Switzerland, Russia, Germany, China, Czech Republic and Italy.
As the host country, Korea is already qualified for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games [in Pyeongchang, South Korea – 9-25 February], and seven other nations will qualify by earning sufficient Olympic Qualification Points at the 2016 and 2017 world championships of each gender. The others then have the option of trying to win one of two qualifying slots [each gender] at the Olympic Qualification Event.

They Said It

Kevin Koe; Canada skip (after 5-3 Gold Medal Game win over Denmark): That feels so good. What a year we've had and to top it off with winning the worlds. They [Denmark] gave a great performance and they're a great young team. Nothing flashy but they were solid. A shot here or there made the difference and there was no big swing till we got the deuce in the ninth end. They had to gamble a little and we were fortunate to get the deuce and made that play at a good time.

Rasmus Stjerne; Denmark skip (after 3-5 Gold Medal Game loss to Canada): "I'm sad right now. I thought we played a good game. My shot in the ninth, it was there really and then we just let it slide away. I think I gave us a chance in the tenth end and he still plays a pretty good shot. I'm gutted right now, but in a few days from now I think I'll be proud of what we did. We did a really great job this week, but right now I'm gutted. We were hoping to go all the way. To get to the final is something to treasure and the only way to learn is to aim for Gold when you're there.”

Up-to-date Men’s World Rankings:

Up-to-date Men’s Olympic Winter Games 2018 qualification points:

RESULT, Gold Medal Game

Denmark 3-5 Canada

STANDINGS after Gold Medal Game (W-L)
Canada 12-1: Gold
Denmark 9-5: Silver
USA 10-4: Bronze
Japan 8-5
Norway 7-4
Sweden 6-5
Scotland 5-6
Finland 5-6
Switzerland 4-7
Russia 2-9
Korea 2-9
Germany 1-10

WCTV highlights