60th anniversary of World Men’s Curling Championship set for Lethbridge, Canada

  • Canada’s skip Kevin Koe Photos: © WCF / Richard Gray

The world’s top men’s curlers will be competing at the Pioneer Hi-Bred World Men’s Curling Championship 2019, in Lethbridge, Alberta, in Canada, from Saturday 30 March until Sunday 7 April.

The ENMAX Centre will be the venue for the World Men’s Curling Championship, which celebrates its 60th anniversary.

The 13 competing Member Associations qualified through a variety of routes for this championship. Canada are the hosts, while United States took up the next available slot from the World Curling Federation’s Americas Zone by beating Brazil and Guyana in the Americas Challenge last November.

A total of seven European teams, qualified from the Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2018 in Tallinn, Estonia, which was also in November. They are (in qualification order) Scotland, Sweden, Italy, Germany, Norway, Switzerland and Russia.

Japan and China qualified from the Pacific-Asia event in Gangneung, South Korea in November. Lastly, Korea and Netherlands were the first teams to reach this championship through the newly introduced World Qualification Event, which had its debut in Naseby, New Zealand, in January.

  • Canada’s skip Kevin Koe makes his fourth world championship appearance, having already won two previous world championships, in 2010 (Cortina, Italy) and 2016 (Basel, Switzerland).
  • China, took silver at the 2018 Pacific-Asia event, and for skip Qiang Zou, despite this being his third world championship, it’s his first time as skip.
  • Germany’s skip Marc Muskatewitz [pictured below] makes his second world appearance.
  • Italy are once again led by skip Joel Retornaz, on his sixth world outing. This team also took bronze medals at the Le Gruyère AOP European Curling Championships 2018.
  • Japan’s team [pictured below, © WCF / Tom Rowland], who won gold at the Pacific-Asia Curling Championships 2018, are making their debut in Lethbridge.
  • Korea’s skip Soohyuk Kim will turn out for his fourth world championship.
  • Netherlands’ skip Jaap Van Dorp and his team return to the worlds for the third time.
  • Norway will have Magnus Ramsfjell at the helm for his first world appearance. This same team finished fourth at the World Junior Curling Championships 2019, in Liverpool, Canada in February.
  • Russia’s Sergey Glukhov will skip for the first time, but has been to two previous worlds.
  • Scotland’s skip Bruce Mouat and his side are making their second appearance. In 2018 they were world bronze medallists.
  • Sweden are defending champions and current Olympic silver medallists. This be a ninth appearance for three-times world champion skip Niklas Edin.
  • Former world junior champion skip Peter de Cruz, who is a two times world bronze medallist, will make his third worlds appearance.
  • The United States’ team are the current Olympic champions and skip John Shuster is making an eighth world championship appearance.
  • For more about how these teams earned their place in Lethbridge, www.wcf.co/2Cyin9u

    In 2017, the World Mixed Doubles and Senior Curling Championships were held in Lethbridge’s, then-new, ATB Centre while, the Ford World Women’s Curling Championship was hosted in 2012 at the ENMAX Centre.

    The World Curling Championship started in various venues in Scotland in 1959 as the Scotch Cup making 2019 its 60th anniversary – The World Women’s Curling Championship, staged in Silkeborg, Denmark last week, had its 40th anniversary in 2019.

    13 teams, six team play-off

    Following the opening ceremony on Saturday 30 March, the teams will battle it out in 20 sessions of round-robin play, until the evening of Friday 5 April.

    After this, the top six teams, at the conclusion of the round robin, will qualify for the play-off stage. The teams ranked first and second progress directly to the semi-final games, while the third-ranked team will play the sixth-ranked team in one qualification game (3v6) and the fourth-ranked team and fifth-ranked team (4v5) will face each other in the other game on the morning of Saturday 6 April.

    In the semi-finals, which will take place later that Saturday, the first-ranked team will play the lowest-ranked qualifier and the second-ranked team will play the other qualification winner. Semi-final winners will then play for the world title and gold and silver medals on Sunday 7 April. The bronze medals will be played for before that.
    Watch, follow, engage

    Live coverage of these championships will be available via the World Curling Federation’s broadcast partners: Eurosport (Europe-wide), TSN and RDS (Canada), NBCSports (United States), NHK (Japan), CCTV5 (China), SBS (Korea), SRF/RTS/RSI (Switzerland), Viasat (Denmark, Norway, Finland), Polsat (Poland), SVT (Sweden), Match TV (Russia), La Chaine Equipe (France), BBC Online (United Kingdom). Coverage will also be available, subject to geo-blocking restrictions, on the event website and the World Curling Federation’s Twitter, Facebook and YouTube Channels: www.youtube.com/WorldCurlingTV

    To engage with the World Curling Federation on social media in the build up to the Pioneer Hi-Bred World Men’s Curling Championship 2019 follow it on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling) and Facebook (@WorldCurlingFederation) and use the hashtags when posting: #WMCC2019 #curling