World Seniors 2012 begin Sunday in Taarnby, Denmark

The World Curling Federation (WCF) World Senior Curling Championships 2012 get underway this Sunday, 14th April, in Taarnby, Denmark, with 14 women’s and 23 men’s teams competing for this year’s medals.

The championships will run until Saturday 21 April and the men’s and women’s events will be staged simultaneously in the 7-sheet Taarnby Curling Club, in Kastrup, on the outskirts of Copenhagen.

This is the 11th edition of formally-sanctioned WCF World Senior Curling Championships. Games are limited to eight-ends and in order to be eligible to play, players must not be less than 50 years of age by the end of the 30th day of June of the year immediately preceding the year in which the WSCC is to take place.

14 nations are represented in the women’s event, which is split into two groups.
Group A: Canada; Denmark; Finland; Ireland; Russia; Scotland and United States.
Group B: Czech Republic; Italy; Japan; New Zealand; Slovakia; Sweden and Switzerland.

The men are split into three groups.
Group A: Canada; Hungary; Italy; Japan; Netherlands; New Zealand and Scotland.
Poland, who were originally listed in group A, have had to withdraw from the championship therefore each team in this group will have a bye during the games scheduled against Poland.
Group B: England; Finland; Ireland; Latvia; Russia; Slovakia; Switzerland and the United States.
Group C: Australia; Austria; Czech Republic; Denmark; Germany; Norway, Sweden and Wales.

Among the men’s competitors this year are three-time world champion Eigil Ramsfjell who will skip Norway, 2007 WSCC gold medallist, Keith Prentice, who will skip Scotland and nine time pacific champion and last year’s WSCC bronze medallist, Hugh Millikan who skips Australia.

In the women’s championship, Denmark have experience in Olympic silver medallist Jane Bidstrup who will skip, while two-time senior world champion, Swedish skip Ingrid Meldahl, will be looking to improve upon last year’s silver medal at the championship. Another returning skip is Switzerland’s Chantal Forrer who won bronze last year.

In last year’s event, which took place in St Paul, USA, Canada (skip Mark Johnson) won the senior men’s title, USA (skip Geoff Goodland) took silver and Australia (skip Hugh Millikin) won bronze.

In the women’s event, Canada (skip Christine Jurgenson) won the senior women’s gold medal, Sweden (skip Ingrid Meldahl) took silver and Switzerland (skip Chantal Forrer) won bronze.

For more information about the event, visit:

Event websites for news & photos:
WCF Twitter Fan Feed: @worldcurling