Korea and Norway qualify for World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2016

Korea and Norway qualified for the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2016 after winning their semi-final games on Thursday morning at the World Wheelchair Championship qualification event at the Kisakallio Sports Institute in Finland.

Korea took five points in the opening end of their semi-final game against the Czech Republic and went on to extend their lead against their opponents to win the game 9-3.

In the other semi-final, Norway that had the upper hand, stealing four points to lead against Sweden by 5-0 after three ends. A further break gave the Norwegians four points in the fifth end and set them up for a 10-3 win.

In winning the semi-finals, Korea and Norway secured the final two spots at the 2016 World Wheelchair Curling Championship (WWhCC 2016) set to take place in Lucerne, Switzerland from 21-28 February.

They join Russia, China, Finland, Slovakia, USA, Canada, Germany and Switzerland as host who have already qualified for this event.

On Thursday afternoon, Korea and Norway played for the gold medals at the qualification event with the Norwegians stealing two points in an extra end for a 7-5 win. Korea took silver.
Sweden won bronze at the event, beating the Czech Republic 5-4.

A record fifteen teams took part in the World Wheelchair-B Curling Championship 2015.

The final standings are:
1. Norway - Gold and qualification for the WWhCC 2016
2. Korea - Silver and qualification for the WWhCC 2016
3. Sweden - Bronze
4. Czech Republic
5. Japan
5. Scotland
7. Italy
8. Denmark
9. Latvia
10. Slovenia
11. England
12. Lithuania
13. Poland
14. Estonia
15. Israel

Results for the event can be found here: www.curling.fi/en/competitions/leagues/11025/games

The World Wheelchair B-Curling Championship is an open entry event. Any World Curling Federation Member Association can enter a team if they have not already qualified for the next World Wheelchair Curling Championship. Teams must be comprised of male and female players. The game is governed by the Rules of Curling with only one modification - no sweeping is allowed. Games are 8 ends in length. Currently there are around 30 of the WCF’s 54 Member Associations that are wheelchair curling.

More information about the World Wheelchair Championships is here: www.worldcurling.org/wwhcc2016

The World Wheelchair Curling Championships 2015, 2016 and 2017 serve as the qualifiers for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games Wheelchair Curling competition. In June, the International Paralympic Committee announced that the 2018 event would be extended to allow 12 wheelchair teams to compete, rather than 10, as in previous Paralympics. www.worldcurling.org/pyeongchang-2018-paralympic-winter-games

Facebook: www.facebook.com/WorldWheelchairCurlingChampionships
Facebook Event Page run by the Kisakallio Institute: www.facebook.com/events/475766429250829/

Session Reports: www.facebook.com/CurlingFinland/
Twitter: @worldcurling
Hashtags: #wwhcc2016 #curling #kisakallio

Report compiled with help and contributions from Daley Nevantaus, Finnish Curling Association

 WWhBCC 2015 Final standings
Some files may require programs or viewers to open or view the download: Acrobat Reader