Expanded World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019 ready to begin in Scotland

  • Scotland’s Hugh Nibloe celebrating at the Worlds in 2017 © WCF / Céline Stucki

The World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019, which will feature 12 Member Associations for the first time, begins at The Peak, in Stirling, Scotland on Sunday (3 March).

Previously, ten Member Associations competed for the world wheelchair curling title.

The 12 teams are Canada, 2018 Paralympic champion nation China, Estonia, Germany, Korea, Latvia, defending champions Norway, Russia, hosts Scotland, Slovakia, Switzerland and United States.

Of these teams, Estonia, Latvia and Slovakia qualified from the World Wheelchair-B event in Lohja, Finland, in November 2018. This is the first world event Estonia and Latvia have qualified for. Scotland are the hosts and the other eight teams qualified from their final placings at the last World Wheelchair event in 2017.

Norway are an unchanged outfit from the 2017 Worlds and from their silver medal finish at the Paralympic Winter Games. Their skip is three-time world champion, Rune Lorentsen. Paralympic champions China will only have two of their Paralympians competing, skip Haitao Wang and alternate Qiang Zhang. The hosts, Scotland, are led by Aileen Neilson, who is making her ninth world championship appearance in Stirling.

  • Read more about what athletes will be competing here, www.worldcurling.org/wwhcc2019/line-ups

    The competition format will involve a round-robin stage that will run from Sunday to Friday 8 March. Then there will be a six-team play-off whereby the teams ranked first and second at the end of the round robin progress directly to the semi-finals. Each of their opponents will be decided by a qualification round. At that stage, the third-ranked team plays the sixth-ranked team and the teams in fourth and fifth place at the end of the round robin face-off.

    There are then bronze and gold medal finals on the closing Sunday (10 March).

    Saturday 9 March
    13:00 – Qualification round (3v6 and 4v5)
    19:00 – Semi-finals

    Sunday 10 March
    10:00 – Bronze medal game
    14:30 – Gold medal game

    All times are Greenwich Mean Time/Universal Coordinated Time.

    In addition to the awarding of medals, every year all the athletes vote for a Sportsmanship Award recipient, for the curler who best exemplifies the Spirit of Curling. This will be announced at the closing ceremony.

    Watch, follow and engage

    Selected games from the play-off stages of the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019 will be streamed live. The exact details of the platform these will broadcast on will be confirmed in due course. The games to be streamed are one qualification game at 13:00 and a semi-final game at 19:00 on Saturday 9 March. Then, on Sunday 10 March the bronze medal game at 10:00 and the gold medal game at 14:30 will be live.

    You can follow the build-up and results of the World Wheelchair Curling Championship 2019 on Twitter, Instagram (@worldcurling | @wwhcc2019) and Facebook (/WorldCurlingFederation | /wwhcc19) and by searching the hashtags #WWhCC2019 #curling